Linux On Mac: SSD unleached

Posted by ZedTuX 0n R00t on April 18, 2015

Recently I was running my Cucumber features in parallel and it was really slow (same speed as running normally the tests).

Using the atop command I’ve identified that the DSK (Disk) line was red all the time with poor performances.

Reading around about Linux and SSD drives lead me to update the /etc/fstab file in order to add flags to the mount command for my SSD drive as the following:

1
2
3
4
5
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=befd193c-ff6a-4f62-a0a2-de044fe6abe8 /               ext4    defaults,noatime,nodiratime,errors=remount-ro 0       1
/dev/sdb1       /media/usb0     auto    rw,user,noauto  0       0
/dev/sdb2       /media/usb1     auto    rw,user,noauto  0       0

Also I have added the following lines:

1
2
3
4
5
# Have the /tmp folder in memory
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs defaults,size=100m 0 0

# Save logs in memory
ram /var/log tmpfs defaults,nosuid,nodev 0 0

After a reboot the disk spead has been increased a lot ! Now the tests are really running fast.